Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Maggie tutors in Santa Cruz, CA

Maggie E.

Private tutor in Santa Cruz, CA

Education

Bachelor of Arts in English and minor in Religious Studies at California State University, Los Angeles. Graduated June 2013. MA in English at Claremont Graduate University. Graduated May 2016. Recently accepted to the Ph.D program in Literature at UC Santa Cruz.

Experience

I have tutored gifted teenagers in CSULA's Early Entrance Program, helping math- and science-oriented students with English and history essays. For the EEP, I have also volunteered as a student mentor, providing academic and social guidance to students making the difficult transition from middle or high school to college. Since my graduation, I have also worked through the tutoring websites WyzAnt and Upswing. Between the two sites, I have over a hundred hours of tutoring experience. My experience with tutoring has been incredibly rewarding. I love helping students learn to write eloquently--my goal is to make myself obsolete by giving my students the tools they need to succeed academically. I have studied British, American, and classical literature, along with theories of literary criticism and the basic beliefs of most major religions. I also have a strong grounding in history, art history, and philosophy. Additionally, I edit and proofread essays. Depending on what a student needs, I can assist in topic selection or brainstorming, outlining, writing, or revising as well. If you specifically want feedback on a paper, I also work via email or Skype. Please contact me for more details.

Availability

Weekends after 10AM

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

My hobbies include knitting, baking, and biking. I also enjoy reading and, no matter how busy I am, try to make time for it every day. In addition, I am currently studying French. I love animals, especially dogs and birds, and I have a pet green-cheeked conure named Holly.

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!