Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Raquel tutors in Santa Cruz, CA

Raquel D.

Private tutor in Santa Cruz, CA

Education

UCSC Earth Science major with a concentration in Physical Oceanography. My current research topic for my undergraduate thesis is modelling simulations of an ocean basin monitored with satellites and drifters to determine the most accurate configurations for forecasting ocean conditions based on current and projected technologies.

Experience

I started tutoring both children and adults while I was at my community college back home in San Diego & took a hiatus after transferring to UCSC for Earth Science so I could focus on my studies. Now that I've completed all my undergraduate coursework (including a handful of graduate level oceanography courses) I will be spending spring quarter completing independent research for my undergraduate thesis in Physical Oceanography and explore career options prior to graduation. Since this means my schedule will be fairly open, I've decided I'd like to get back to tutoring! I enjoy working with my students, and hey I'm a pretty great tutor! :) Math & English are my primary foci, or rather---those in highest demand. My mathematics background extends though linear algebra & differential equations, I am an extremely proficient writer (though I will only help guide students, not write their papers for them!), & I passed 6 AP Exams in high school so I am extremely familiar with test-taking techniques.

Subject Expertise

Availability

Weekends at any time, Weekdays at any time

Can Meet

Up to 1 hour away for a flat fee, Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

In my free time I enjoy reading and staying active with activities like bodyboarding and backpacking. I'm fairly well rounded and equally enjoy ventures to professional ballets (I used to dance competitively), science museums (I'm still a huge nerd at heart), and mud runs (well...I try!! :D )

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!